My Life So Far

I suppose I should start this blog off with a little bit about myself.  I have an ‘About’ section, I know, but I’d like to expand on that a bit.

Hi, everyone!  My name is Jenna, I’m 20 years old and I live in New Orleans.  I’m an English major planning on continuing my education with a Creative Writing MFA.  I want to be a novelist.  Well, truth be told, I already AM a novelist.  I completed the rough draft of my first novel, “Don’t Wake Me Up”, in November as a part of National Novel Writing Month, which I have participated in the past two years.  I have yet to edit it, but I absolutely plan on doing that and submitting it to literary agents.

But enough about that.

I recently decided to apply to the University of California at Berkeley’s summer creative writing workshop.  I wrote an original short story entitled “Island in the Fog” to submit to them.  I put it off as long as I possibly could.  I have a strange attitude towards my writing.  I have short bursts of excitement in which I can’t write quickly enough and I love everything I’m writing down.  Then I have periods of days or even weeks where I hate the story and I think I am a terrible writer.  Long story short, I finished IITF and submitted it to the program on April 27.  May 2 I received an email notifying me of my acceptance!  I was so excited, but mainly shocked.  That may be ridiculous, but I think it’s better to expect little and be pleasantly surprised than to be disappointed.  I rarely expect much of myself, so there’s room for that surprise 🙂

So I’m heading out on my first plane trip ever on May 25.  Six weeks in an unfamiliar state on the other side of the country.  The downside: possibly getting lost and/or confused several times; rooming with a stranger who seems nice but I sometimes worry about interacting with because of my social anxiety.  The perks: six weeks in a writing community and getting to focus solely on writing in my downtime; being so close to San Francisco and lots of amazing photographic opportunities both in the city itself and getting to see the Pacific Ocean (before seeing the Atlantic, which I’m much closer to. Go figure)!  So, after going through a period of doubt and anxiety, I’m completely thrilled about going, once again.  I will be sure to keep this blog updated, ideally every day, about my adventures in Berkeley, California.

Thank you, anyone who happens to come across this blog and decides to stick with me. I’ve never run a blog before (unless fangirl blogs on Tumblr count, of course :D) and I’ve never read any.  If you want to leave me a comment, please feel free!  I’ll be updating fairly often and answering comments.  Thank you and God bless 🙂

Jenna

Reading now: ‘Timeline’ by Michael Crichton.  I just finished ‘The Great Gatsby’ by F. Scott Fitzgerald.  I’m hoping to get around to the theater to see it quite soon!

Recently seen in theaters: ‘Iron Man 3’.  My review = ****  Excellent outing from Shane Black, whom I knew relatively little about before the film was released.  He had a different style from Jon Favreau; the camera angles and writing were new for an Iron Man film, and you can tell someone else was helming it.  Overall, there were some elements that struck me wrong (did anyone find that the character of Maya Hansen had a real purpose?), but the action sequences were well-executed, and the humor was perfectly in line with the rest of the franchise.  I shall miss you, Tony Stark.  It was a good run.

P.S.  If you couldn’t tell already, I think I’m going to do these ‘reading now’ and movie reviews on the end of my blog posts.  If there’s nothing new to report, then I won’t post anything.  I may also do movie reviews for older movies that I’m just now watching.  Just so you know.  

About Jenna

I am 24 years old, with a bachelor's degree in English. I am currently querying a YA fantasy about assassins and magical powers, and I'm revising another YA fantasy based on Mayan civilization!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Life So Far

  1. Good luck. Just wanted to share my writings about my hilarious Ecuador adventure, hope you enjoy.
    http://www.atruetalltale.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

