A Farewell to the SCWP

Today is the day. My flight leaves for home in less than 5 hours. As I sit here typing this on my phone, I have about 45 minutes before I leave.

I wish I could write a long, detailed post about everything that’s happened to me this summer. I don’t have the time now. Maybe once I’m back on the Gulf Coast I will. The thing is, even if I had the time I don’t know if I could do it right now. It’s all still too recent, too painful.

Don’t get me wrong, it was the best experience. Definitely the Best Summer Ever. It’s the goodbyes that get to me. I wrote all of this last week, I know, so I’ll try to stop…

Just: thank you SCWP and everyone involved in the program at Cal. You all changed my life. I met talented writers both at the student and faculty level. I laughed, cried, fell in love and wrote wrote wrote. As I fly away from you this afternoon, just know that I will always remember all of you and, hopefully, you’ll see me again someday.

About Jenna

I am 24 years old, with a bachelor's degree in English. I am currently querying a YA fantasy about assassins and magical powers, and I'm revising another YA fantasy based on Mayan civilization!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

