NaNoWriMo 2013: The End of Days

Well, here we are: November 30. How’s everyone’s wordcounts coming? I must admit, I did not expect to win this year at all. I pulled out to an impressive lead in the first few days but got lazy and slacked off a couple of times. But in the last four days of the month I pounded out lots of words and ended up winning with 50,044! Amazing.

The thing about NaNoWriMo is that you don’t necessarily have to write anything GOOD. My first and second NaNoWriMo novels might never be revised, and that’s okay. I might not even bother revising this one. I think the exercise, the constant pushing yourself and sticking to a deadline, is an important skill to have if you plan to make it in the writing industry, which I do.

Sometimes a strange thing happens during NaNoWriMo: a wonderful, mysterious thing. Sometimes you get new ideas from writing about the idea you already have. Sometimes your ideas branch off and splinter into fragments of brilliance you wouldn’t have found otherwise.

I think that’s what happened to me this year. I was excited about my novel idea at first, then the Week 1 giddiness wore off. I was getting bored. But while I was trying to come up with the next scene to move the plot along, I got the premise for a future novel, SHATTER THROUGH. Time travel, star-crossed love, historical-ness, all that. And it was more exciting than anything I had written thus far.

Tomorrow is the first of December. If you’ve been following my blog, you know that means I’ll be starting my first round of revisions on SOULREADER. I’m extremely nervous about it. I’ve never tried to revise one of my novels before but I love that book. I love it more than anything I’ve ever done. But it needs a lot of work. I was lucky enough to win a free critique of the first twenty pages by Bear & Black Dog Editing, and the advice I got from those ladies was very helpful, a good springboard for my own editing. I also sent it to a writer friend during November, hoping she would catch some plot issues I need to address in Round 1. The more distance I can get from the project, the better.

I’ve never been more determined about anything in my life as I am about getting better at writing. I know this is what I’m supposed to be doing, and I couldn’t have gotten very far without the encouragement from everyone in my life that matters.

I’ll be posting updates throughout the month on how the revisions are going. If I don’t die before then.

See you on the other side!

xx Jenna

About Jenna

I am 24 years old, with a bachelor's degree in English. I am currently querying a YA fantasy about assassins and magical powers, and I'm revising another YA fantasy based on Mayan civilization!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

