90 Day Writing Challenge: Why Do I Do This To Myself??

I guess that title says it all! I am participating in a 90 Day Writing Challenge, starting yesterday (March 21). And I don’t know why I put myself through these things!

Obviously, I love writing. I don’t know what I would be doing right now if it weren’t for writing. It’s what I love to do most in all  the world and I want to keep doing it, personally and professionally. You hear that, writing? I go through a lot of angst and stress to pursue you! The least you could do is acknowledge that and make it a little easier 😉

In all seriousness, though, I chose to take on this challenge because I really need to be writing more. I’m still bogged down in edits (third round, as of the writing of this blog post) of my first major novel, SOULREADER. I say major because it’s actually my third novel I’ve completed, but it’s the first one to go over 50,000 words (hello, NaNoWriMo) and the first I’ve ever attempted to edit. But there’s so many other novel ideas bouncing around in my head that I want to get written! And one of my goals is to get a short story published somewhere I will actually get paid for it.

Unfortunately, I didn’t get any writing done yesterday! Well, I did, but not on any of the projects I want to work on. I made a move in Storium, which is a really great online roleplaying game that you write with friends as you go! I really love it but I don’t have a lot of time to devote to it and, when I do, it takes time away from real projects. 😉 Oh, the writing life…

So, here and now, allow me to illustrate what I want to do with these 90 days:

  • Write 2-3 short stories
  • Write a first draft of my next novel, SHATTER THROUGH
  • Completely finish edits on SOULREADER and *gulp* start the querying process
  • Write a blog post a week

That’s about it! I’ll have to come up with a specific week-by-week planning method for when I want to complete those projects, but that’s for another time. Perhaps in next week’s update? Hopefully I won’t be manically climbing the walls before then. For now, I’ll just keep Storium-ing and working on edits. I bought Scrivener this week, so I’m really very excited about that. It’s going to be a big help for SHATTER THROUGH (my time travel-y book!).

I will leave you with a list of my personal writing buddies who are taking the challenge with me on Twitter with the hashtag #90DayWritingChallenge and/or #MadWritersClub:

There are several other people taking the challenge, if you check out my good friend Eve’s website post here, which I hope you do. I don’t know everyone yet, but I’m looking forward to meeting new writing buddies over the course of the challenge! And I hope you enjoy the insanity that I promise is coming throughout 😉 Also, check out Christiney’s blog post here. She’s the one who started it all! 🙂

I will be surviving on mainly tea and Twizzlers throughout this challenge. If I fall into a sugar coma, you know what happened.

See you all next week!

 

About Jenna

I am 24 years old, with a bachelor's degree in English. I am currently querying a YA fantasy about assassins and magical powers, and I'm revising another YA fantasy based on Mayan civilization!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 90 Day Writing Challenge: Why Do I Do This To Myself??

  1. Eve says:

    The gifs, omg XD

  2. Pingback: #MadWritersClub – Week 1 | christiney writes

  3. BWA HA HA my evil plan to not suffer alone is working ❤

  4. Diyana says:

    Ohmygod, the gifs! If I could have a poster made out of the last two I would.

Leave a Reply

