Draft 4 Update: Hooray for Summer!

Hello again! As expected, I have read two books since last week’s post. I finished The Archived and read Matched. I don’t know what I was expecting, but it wasn’t all that great, to be honest. Most of the characters felt like filler, like they had no real purpose or life of their own except to drive Cassia’s story forward. I hate when that happens.

On a more exciting note, I got a 4.0 this semester! My whole junior year was a 4.0, sending my GPA up to 3.8!

Revising has been going pretty well, too. It was a bumpy start, since I had to combine chapters 1 and 4, but I made it through. Towards the end I’m going to get slowed down again, since I have to completely rewrite some chapters, but that’s okay. I’ll get it done eventually! At the moment, I’m blazing through three chapters a day, so that I don’t have to revise at all this weekend. I’m participating in a readathon, reading 6 books in 3 days, so that should be interesting, to say the least!

Also, I’m pretty sure the 90 Day Writing Challenge is ending sometime soon. I wouldn’t know, since I stopped keeping track long ago. I’m semi-participating, though. I’m finishing up a new draft of my novel, so that probably counts. And it’s not all replacing third person pronouns with first person ones, either. Sometimes I have to rewrite scenes, shift things around, and write new paragraphs or cut some sentences. I’ve actually been doing a good amount of work, when I think about it.

I generally try not to. I just like to do my work for the day and then relax! Speaking of, my manuscript calls. See you all next week!

–Jenna

About Jenna

I am 24 years old, with a bachelor's degree in English. I am currently querying a YA fantasy about assassins and magical powers, and I'm revising another YA fantasy based on Mayan civilization!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

