The Next Step: Draft 6 Update

Another Christmas come and gone. It always seems to come too quickly and leave again just as quickly. It was a good one, though, and probably the last I’ll be able to spend entirely at home. This time next year I won’t be living at home anymore. Scary!

On a less terrifying note (or maybe just as terrifying), I finished reading through draft 5 last night! I made all my notes (15 pages of them), highlighted the passages I don’t like (so much yellow!), and made scene cards. The plan for today was to map out my subplots and mark them on the scene cards, then arrange the scene cards on my corkboard so I can see them all at a glance, but I’m not sure if that’s going to happen. Maybe I’ll just take a day off today and start tomorrow.

After that, it’s revision time! Nothing too major this draft, thank goodness. Just shining it up for querying, really. Once that’s underway, then the real panic starts 😉

I really thought I would have more time over the break to write, but the break is almost over, too! Just 3 more weeks until my final semester of undergraduate begins. It’s been a good four years, and I can’t believe it’s almost gone. It’s funny, the stupid reasons why you do things, like picking a college, that turn out far, far better than you could ever have hoped. If I hadn’t chosen the college I did, I wouldn’t have forged lifelong friendships with some amazing professors. I wouldn’t have met my best friend!

Now I just have to figure out what to do with the rest of my life…

About Jenna

I am 24 years old, with a bachelor's degree in English. I am currently querying a YA fantasy about assassins and magical powers, and I'm revising another YA fantasy based on Mayan civilization!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

