I Have Exciting News!!

Sorry this post is late. I wanted to get to it on Monday, but I got caught up trying to prepare for my last semester of undergraduate (!!!) and something equally as exciting and terrifying…

Well, as you may have guessed from the title, I finally did it! I started querying agents on Monday. I was terrified when I opened up my email and prepared to start but, once the first email was gone, the other 9 weren’t difficult at all! In fact, it all felt a little anticlimactic. Of course, I saved my “dream agent” for last, and clicking send on hers was a little traumatizing, but still.

I’m sure I won’t be so calm when the first rejection (or request!) email comes in, but for now, it’s okay. I’m focusing on other things, like I planned. School this week, hopefully planning a new book really soon (I’m interested in writing one where the society is roughly based on Aztec society, like Leigh Bardugo’s Shadow and Bone series is based on Russian society). I’ve got this! And if Soulreader doesn’t spark any interest (i.e. get me an agent), then I’ll try again with a new book.

Right. I’ll tell myself that NOW, before the 100+ rejections roll in and reality hits. Yikes! This is me:

Fingers crossed!

-Jenna

About Jenna

I am 24 years old, with a bachelor's degree in English. I am currently querying a YA fantasy about assassins and magical powers, and I'm revising another YA fantasy based on Mayan civilization!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Have Exciting News!!

  1. That’s wonderful! Congratulations on having the courage to send those queries and get your work out there! Best of luck to you!!

Leave a Reply

