Writing/Querying Update

I just realized I haven’t posted an update since I started querying last month. I should fix that. And, since I’m into statistics, I’ll break down the numbers for you:

  • On January 19, I sent out 10 queries.
  • One I had to withdraw (because I accepted an internship at the agency! I’m enjoying working for the wonderful Booker Albert Agency, even if that does mean I can’t query Jordy Albert ;D ).
  • I received 3 rejections on those queries (so far). That’s 30%
  • I also received a partial request which I’m unreasonably excited about! This agent has a very good reputation, the way she works with her clients is what I would ideally love in an agent, AND she represents two of my favorite new writers. I don’t want to put the cart before the horse, obviously, but I’m glad she saw enough merit in my idea to request pages. And that’s all I’m going to say about it! (Though I am still screaming internally. Have been since Wednesday)
  • On February 5, I sent out 5 more queries. I haven’t heard back from any of those yet.
  • So now, according to QueryTracker, I have a 28.6% rejection rate, 7.1% request rate, and 64.3% are still out. Not too bad.

The best thing to do while querying is KEEP YOUR MIND OFF IT! Last Wednesday, I’m sure the queries crossed my mind a few times, especially when I received a rejection in the morning, but 3 hours later I was NOT expecting the request. Keeping occupied is the only thing keeping me sane right now, honestly.

I’m planning a new novel! I may have mentioned it before, especially in my last post, but I’m very excited about it. It’s based on a mish-mash of Aztec and Mayan culture, especially their gods, naming system (Mayan – Aztec names are unpronounceable!), and buildings. I’m still trying to decide whether or not to include sci-fi elements, but I don’t think I will in the end. I haven’t gotten very far with it, but what I know is this:

  • There is an uneasy alliance between three city-states. The most powerful of them, Ixtan, has bound the three of them together through many long years. But with the death of the king, the alliance begins to slowly crumble. His son is now king, but his sanity is as fragile as the alliance itself. His sister, Eleuia, believes that her brother’s sickness originated from the Acropolis, the massive burial place of Ixtan’s noble dead which dominates the landscape. There have long been whispers of the place’s evil, its proximity to an entrance to the underworld, but can it really spread the will of the death god like an infection? Eleuia must discover the acropolis’s secrets and save her brother, before the city-states declare all-out war and conquer Ixtan.

Wow, when I write it out like that, it really looks like I have it all figured out! The truth is, I just typed that up. The ideas came as I typed! Either way, I’m very excited to get started on this book, tentatively titled IN THE SHADOW OF THE ACROPOLIS. I just need to get it meticulously planned out, especially the worldbuilding. That can really come back to bite you if you don’t know what you’re doing. Hopefully I will learn from SOULREADER’s mistakes, especially in the earlier drafts. If I do it right, ACROPOLIS might only need 3 or so revisions! That would be a relief…

–Jenna

About Jenna

I am 24 years old, with a bachelor's degree in English. I am currently querying a YA fantasy about assassins and magical powers, and I'm revising another YA fantasy based on Mayan civilization!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

