Branching Out

Despite my best intentions, it looks like my blog is becoming a bimonthly affair, instead of weekly. Not forever, hopefully, but for now it’s going that way. I haven’t been able to find much to write about, since I’m not writing a new book (yet), and querying is slow. Finding the TIME is a problem, too, especially now that I’m almost finished with my last semester of college.

But what I AM doing is teaching myself the art of the screenplay. I’ve been wanting to try one for a while now, and I’m finally picking up books on how to format one. It looks daunting, but I actually enjoy the structure of it. The way a novel is formatted, there are words all OVER the page. I kind of like the centered, capital letters and bolded words of screenplays.

Is that weird?

Right now I’m reading The Screenwriting Formula, by Rob Tobin. As a first introduction to screenwriting, it’s interesting, but it can get a little tedious at times. Knowing the generic formula for movies is good, but I thought I was going to get a book on the actual format. I like to know HOW to do things. I know how to build a story already. But I got a couple of screenwriting books from the book sale last month, too, so maybe those will be better. I also printed off a copy of the script for the pilot of LOST, so I have an actual, real-life example of great (TV) scriptwriting to reference. After all, that’s the best way to learn something: don’t read books about how to do it, read examples! I know there are some differences between a movie screenplay and a TV script, but I want to learn both anyway.

I am also super excited to announce that, since I last updated, one of my critique partners has gotten an AGENT!! My wonderful friend Joanna Meyer is now represented by Sarah Davies, of The Greenhouse Literary Agency. It’s been a long, crazy road to representation for Joanna, and she deserves it more than anyone else I know. I’ve read two of her books, SEER’S SONG and THE WHALE AND THE TREE (which is the one which got her an agent), and they’re both wonderful! I can’t wait to see her work in print. The only thing I’m sad about is that we can no longer commiserate on agent rejections through private Twitter messages! 😉

–Jenna

About Jenna

I am 24 years old, with a bachelor's degree in English. I am currently querying a YA fantasy about assassins and magical powers, and I'm revising another YA fantasy based on Mayan civilization!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

