Currently Slamming My Head Into the Wall

I wish I had better news in this update. I’m still avoiding my writing. I should have been done with this draft by now, but every time I sit down to write, I do other things instead, because I’m too afraid to write anything down. But the more time I spend away from it, the harder it is to pick up where I left off. It’s a vicious cycle.

PitchWars picks are announced tomorrow night, so hopefully no matter what the outcome of that is, it will motivate me to finish this draft. I want to be finished. I want to import everything into Scrivener, print out my draft, and edit! That’s when I really start enjoying what I do. But I’ll never get to that point if I don’t finish the first draft.

So, yeah. I’ve done nothing since last week’s update. To be fair, I’ve been visiting my parents every weekend, and I could use my weekends for writing. I don’t get anything done when I’m up there because I’m trying to spend time with them. But this weekend I’m staying home, so maybe I’ll focus on sitting down for a few hours and hammering out the last 5000 or so words.

I just really need someone to keep me accountable, I think. I can’t make myself write on my own. I’m going to really try today, though. I’m so close…

About Jenna

I am 23 years old, with a bachelor's degree in English. I currently work as a staff writer for a nonprofit organization. I am currently querying a YA fantasy about assassins and magical powers, and I'm drafting another YA fantasy based on Mayan civilization!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

