Victory at Last

I know this post is coming a little late, but better late than never I guess. Besides, I have amazing news.

I finished draft 1 of In the Shadow of the Necropolis at 10pm last night!! It feels so good to be finished after a long year of starts and stops (more stops than starts, to be honest). I couldn’t wait a second longer – as soon as I finished, I stayed up late to format it (it got a little screwy somehow along the line) and print it out. I love the visual of a completed manuscript that I can hold in my hands, and to use for marking up in edits. Just look at it!

Just skimming over it last night as I formatted it, I got very excited to continue working on this book. I’ve said it before, but I’ll say it again – I really believe this manuscript is The One. I need to work on world building (as always – I get lazy when I write the first draft and make it up as I go along instead of planning. I nail down the specifics of location in subsequent drafts. Backwards, I know), characterization issues, things like that. But the writing itself? There’s a few rough sections where I either wasn’t feeling it or hadn’t written in a long time and was struggling to get back into it, but overall . . . not to sound conceited, but it’s good. Better than my last novel, and that’s gotten some agent requests (though nothing has come of it).

I’m going to try not to get too excited as I work on polishing the draft up, but I’m cautiously optimistic. After all, I can only get better, and in my personal opinion, Soulreader got pretty good by the sixth draft, even though I’m probably going to end up shelving it. ITSOTN has the potential to be even better (and I think it kind of already is, in some ways).

But most importantly, I’m proud of myself for not giving up. This past year has been one of the most stressful, poor mental health years of my life, but I wrote anyway. And now I’m going to edit anyway. And I’m going to get a polished draft to my critique partners before the end of the year. If I’m lucky, I’ll be querying shortly after the New Year. Those are my goals. And I think, if I stay focused and shut out the negative voices in my head, and with your help, I can make it.

About Jenna

I am 24 years old, with a bachelor's degree in English. I am currently querying a YA fantasy about assassins and magical powers, and I'm revising another YA fantasy based on Mayan civilization!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

