What Comes Next?

I just can’t resist those Hamilton puns 😉 It’s been a little over a week since I finished drafting In the Shadow of the Necropolis now, and progress is a little slow. I have been working on it, so that’s a plus, but not as quickly as I had hoped. I transferred the entire document into Scrivener last week, and right now I’m working on typing up scene synopses for the scene cards in Scrivener, so I can see what’s going on and also hopefully write up a working full synopsis sometime soon. I’ve gotten 19 of the 33 chapters finished, so I’m hoping to finish that up today or tomorrow.

What I really need to do is sit down and make a working editing schedule for myself, to keep on track. Getting a polished draft to my CPs by the end of the year is a tall order, but that’s what I want to do. I think I can do it, if I focus. So, here’s a checklist of what needs to be done in the next 3 months:

  • Finish typing scene/chapter synopses
  • Write full synopsis for book
  • Read through manuscript, taking notes on changes to be made
  • Compile list of edits
  • Write draft 2 of book
  • Send draft to CPs for review

Now that I’m looking at it, it doesn’t seem so bad. If I finish the scene synopses tomorrow, I can write the full synopsis over the weekend. Then I could take next week to read through and take notes on the full manuscript/compile a list of edits. After that I still have almost the full 3 months to write the second draft! I can definitely do this. And, in the meantime, I can be thinking of ideas for my next book and either continuing to query Soulreader or shelving it for good. I don’t think it’s any fault of the book’s; it’s just that the market it burned out on assassins and I didn’t realize that before I wrote it. There’s no real way I can change Petra’s profession, either, without substantially changing the whole story. She has to be an assassin. Sigh; oh well.

The thought of pulling Soulreader might make me more upset, but I’m too excited about In the Shadow of the Necropolis to think much about it. I’m teetering on that edge of not wanting to be too excited, because what if this one doesn’t get an agent either? and not caring and being super excited anyway. To be perfectly honest, the last 8 months have been pretty rough on me, for no particular reason other than my anxiety and depression deciding to ramp up again like they did in high school. I think I’m going to choose to be excited, because I haven’t allowed myself happiness in a long time. There were 3 brief windows this summer, on my trips, but it’s been pretty dark besides that.

And I guess we’ll see what comes of this story . . .

About Jenna

I am 23 years old, with a bachelor's degree in English. I currently work as a staff writer for a nonprofit organization. I am currently querying a YA fantasy about assassins and magical powers, and I'm drafting another YA fantasy based on Mayan civilization!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

